

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University O/o the Public Relations Officer Coimbatore – 641 003

Dr. Venkata Pirabu, Ph.D., Public Relations Officer & Professor (Agrl. Extension) Mobile: 94890 56730

Phone: 0422 - 6611302 Fax: 0422 – 2431821 E-mail: pro@tnau.ac.in

Date: 18-12-2014 To

The Editor,

Sir,

I request that the following matter may kindly be published in your esteemed daily:

Microbiology and Virological Science will have Done Future

The inaugural ceremony of The XXIII National conference -VIROCON 2014, hosted by the Indian Virological Society (IVS), New Delhi with the theme "Recent trends in virology research in the Omics Era" was held on 18th December 2014 at Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore.

The conference was inaugurated by Dr. K.Ramasamy, the Vice Chancellor, TNAU on December 18, 2014 at TNAU, Coimbatore. Addressing the inaugural function, Dr. K. Ramasamy stressed the importance of food safety and Biobased technology and probiotics in the control of diseases. He requested the IVS to make text books and course contents for virology for the benefit of students.

In his Special address Dr. G. Bakthavathsalam, Chairman, KG Hospital, Coimbatore said that "Microbiology and Virology have great scope in future in medicine". Also he highlighted the importance of natural plant products in control of virus diseases of human beings and suggested the ways to lead healthy life by controlling cholestrol, blood glucose level and blood pressure.

The welcome speech was delivered by Dr. R. Rabindran, Registar, TNAU and Organizing Secretary. In his welcome address he indicated that TNAU is pioneer in virus research and research on plant viruses was started since 1962 after the establishment of insect proof glasshouse and electron microscope facilities under the sponsorship of the Rockefeller Foundation, USA.

Prof. Anupam Varma, INSA Honorary Scientist and Adjunct Professor praised that "TNAU is one of the best agricultural universities in India" and recalled the contributions made by Dr. Ramakrishnan, one of the eminent virologist at TNAU.

Dr. A.K. Prasad, President, IVS, New Delhi and Dr. Narayan Rishi, Director, Amity Institute of Virology and Immunology, Dr. Maheswaran, Director of Research, TNAU, Dr. K. Ramaraju, Director (CPPS) also spoke in the ceremony.

Dr. G.P. Rao said that IVS was established in 1984 and organized 3 international and 22 national conferences so far and IVS is publishing a journal "Indian Journal of Virology" and a newsletter" Virus Research News".

Three eminent scientists of TNAU, Dr.R.Jeyarajan, Dr. P.Narayanasamy and Dr. Sabitha Doraisamy were felicitated by the IVS for their outstanding contributions to research on virology. This was followed by IVS award ceremony and the following scientists were awarded for their contributions in virology.

Prof. K.S. Bharagava Award

Prof. Dr. Narayan Rishi, Director, Amity Institute of Virology and Immunology

Life Time Achievement Award

Prof. Dr. M.P. Yadav, Secretary, NAAS, New Delhi

Prof. Dr. A.K. Prasad, President, IVS, New Delhi

Prof. Dr. Anupam Varma, Adjunct Professor, IARI, New Delhi

IVS Fellow Award

Dr. Y.P.S. Malik, IVRI, Bareilly, Uttat Pradesh

Dr. S.K. Tewari, IVRI, Bareilly, Uttat Pradesh

Dr. Shailendra Saxena, IGGMB, Hyderabad

Dr. R. Viswanathan, Sugarcane Breeding Institute, Coimbatore

Dr. B.L. Patil, ICAR-NRCPB, New Delhi.

The inaugural function was followed by Prof. K.S. Bharagava Oration Award lecture by Dr. Narayana Rish oni "The Viruses: Vedas to Virome" and by plenary Lectures by Dr. Anupam Varma and Dr. J. Shanmugam.

On the occasion, a Souvenir and abstract book of the conference was released.

The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. D.Alice, Professor and Head, Department of Plant Pathology, TNAU, Coimbatore.

Public Relations Officer